Friday, November 1, 2013

HAN BENNINK / WILLEM BREUKER – The New Acoustic Swing Duo In Japan 1984 (LP-1984)

Label: Jazz & NoW – 2
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album; Country: Japan - Released: 1984
Style: Free Jazz
Recorded live at Jazz & Now, Sendai, Japan, 30 August 1984.
Track A2 is an unaccompanied percussion solo, track A3 is an unaccompanied bass clarinet solo
Artwork and Design by  Han Bennink
Producer – Kunio Nakamura
Recorded By – Morio Nakamura

A1  Sendai Sjors And Sendai Sjimmie  9:57
A2  Kah-Wi! Drums – Han Bennink  6:29
A3  Tlam Bass Clarinet – Willem Breuker  5:56
A4  A Cigar For Kunio  4:35
B1  Domo Louis-San  6:57
B2  Kamikaze Dick  7:56
B3  Call From The Korean Doctor  11:03

Willem Breuker – Bass Clarinet, Soprano Saxophone, Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Producer, Remix
Han Bennink – Drums, Piano, Soprano Saxophone, Wind [Megaphone], Producer

Breuker and Bennink developed several projects between 67 and 73, one being a duo, which came the amazing album "New Acoustic Swing Duo", 67. Almost two decades after this shoot, they ran to the session presentations in Japan, this came "The New Acoustic Swing Duo in Japan 1984" captured the Japanese city of Sendai, on August 30, 84. If Breuker was not an enthusiast full of free improv, when he joined Bennink had no other way out: it was best to let the sound flow freely.

Link in Comments!


  1. HAN BENNINK / WILLEM BREUKER – The New Acoustic Swing Duo In Japan 1984 (LP-1984)


  2. Slowly working my way through your treasures. Thank you, Vitko!