Monday, November 25, 2013


Label: Black Saint – BSR 0003
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album; Country: Italy - Released: 1976
Style: Free Jazz, Free Improvisation
Recorded at Generation Sound Studios, New York on October 13-14, 1975.
Engineer – Tony May
Producer – Giacomo Pellicciotti
All songs written by Muhal Richard Abrams except "Way Way Way Down Yonder" (Malachi Favors).

A fantastic record – and one of the warmest, most soulful sets we've ever heard from Muhal Richard Abrams! The album features Muhal's piano alongside the bass of Malachi Favors – a really unique duo outing that unlocks a whole new side of both players, especially Favors, who really seems to have a presence here that's different than usual – a bubbling, effervescent sense of soul that really buoys up the whole record, and helps Abrams hit these beautifully lyrical tones on the piano. We can't recommend this one highly enough, and the tracks include "W.W. (Dedicated to Wilbur Ware)", "JG", "Way Way Way Down Yonder", "Unity", and "Two Over One". _(Dusty Groove, Inc.)

"The reputation of members of the AACM (Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians), of which Abrams is a founding member, has long been one of adventurous, dangerous, and difficult music. But in fact, much of the music created out of this organization shows enormous appreciation of the blues and earlier jazz forms. Sightsong is a splendid case in point. The album opens with four duets (two dedicated to Chicago legends Wilbur Ware and Johnny Griffin) which have a swing, a groove, and a delicacy that no fan of "straight- ahead" jazz could ignore. Favors, always one of the great underrated bassists in the music, provides a thick, soulful pulse and solos with huge imagination while Abrams always stays within the song's parameters which provide ample room for his creativity. As fine as these more "traditional" numbers are, the standout piece is perhaps Favors' solo feature, the wonderfully titled "Way Way Way Down Yonder." Opening with what sounds like the riffled pages of a book, Favors then states the deep, bluesy theme with strutting authority and proceeds through one of the richest investigations of the string bass the listener is ever likely to hear. Sightsong is one of Abrams's finest recordings and is also perhaps the best showcase for Malachi Favors' talents outside of his seminal work with the Art Ensemble of Chicago."


Links in Comments!


  1. MUHAL RICHARD ABRAMS featuring MALACHI FAVORS – Sightsong (LP-1976)
    Vinyl Rip - MP3@320+Artwork



    1. Something is happening with GameFront, so here's another alternative link.


  2. thank you very much for muhal richard abrams!!

  3. Thanks Vitko . . . this is one of his black saint releases I haven't heard yet!

  4. beautiful...exciting...and how much solace is to be found in these duets...thanks...

  5. Great album by a two masters! Thanks Vitko.

  6. Been looking for this for years! Muchos gracias companero!

  7. Any chance of a re-up? Thanks in advance.

  8. cs,
    DepositFiles is still working fine. Look at the above, the third link.