Thursday, April 10, 2014


Label: AMIGA – 8 50 041 (Series: Amiga Jazz)
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Mono, Reissue
Country: German Democratic Republic (GDR); Released: 1980 
Style: Hard Bop, Free Jazz
Recorded at Walldorf Tonstudio Frankfurt, 6 and 7 Jun 1964
Photography By [Liner Foto] – Mara Eggert
Producer - Horst Lippmann
Liner Notes By – Karlheinz Drechsel
Written-By – Albert Mangelsdorff (tracks: A1 to A4, B2, B4), Heinz Sauer (tracks: B1), Ravi Shankar (tracks: B3)

Albert Mangelsdorff had just completed a long concert tour in Asia prior to this recording session in Frankfurt, where he documented many of the originals that he performed on the road.

A1 - Now Jazz Ramwong . . . 9:02
A2 - Sakura Waltz . . . 3:27
A3 - Blue Fanfare . . . 6:41
B1 - Three Jazz Moods . . . 6:13
B2 - Burungkaka . . . 3:28
B3 - Raknash . . . 4:42
B4 - Theme From Vietnam . . . 0:59
B5 - Es Sungen Drei Engel . . . 7:31

GÜNTER KRONBERG – Alto Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone
HEINZ SAUER – Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone
ROLF HÜBNER – Drums, Percussion

Brilliant modern jazz from German trombonist Albert Mangelsdorff – recording here in 1964, but sounding years ahead of his time, with an amazing a blend of jazz and Asian styles! The album's one of Mangelsdorff's best ever – a set of rhythmic tunes that seem clearly informed by the work of Ornette and Joe Harriott, but also based along eastern themes picked up by the group on a tour of the Orient – and performed by a sharp-edged quintet that includes Heinz Sauer on tenor and soprano sax, Günter Kronberg on alto, Günter Lenz on bass, and Ralph Hübner on drums. There's some nice traces of MPS/Saba modal and Jazz Meets the World styles – and overall, the rhythmic pulse keeps things from getting as free and out as on Mangelsdorff's 70s sides – really soaring, but never too far out – and always with a cool exotic groove. The whole thing's great – instantly striking, and always a treasure – and titles include "Sakura Waltz", "Now Jazz Ramwong", "Raknash", "Theme From Vietnam", and "Burungkaka".


If you find it, buy this album!


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

    1. Is this still available for download please?

    2. New link:

      ALBERT MANGELSDORFF QUINTETT - Now Jazz Ramwong (LP-1964)
      Vinyl Rip-MP3-320+Cover


  2. Thank you Vitko, this is great rare Mangelsdorff.

  3. This is awesome Vitko! VERY interesting personnel. Thanks for the listen.

  4. i'm grabbing this one too, so thanks in advance... not sure why this would be thought to feature "interesting" personnel as such though (?) - if i'm not mistaken sauer, lenz and hübner were regulars in mangelsdorff's working quartet. it's only the other sax player whose name i don't immediately recognise. born nitpicker, i can't help it ;-)

    1. Günter Kronberg (* September 26 1926 in Gelsenkirchen , † September 18th 1977 in Frankfurt am Main ).
      After training at the piano and clarinet, he worked in the Municipal Orchestra of Gelsenkirchen. He then worked as a jazz musician long time with various groups in North Africa. In 1960, he joined with his hard bop combo at the Jazz Festival in Frankfurt am Main on. He then worked until 1969 in the Albert Mangelsdorff Quintet (tours in Europe, Africa, Asia and North America; recordings). From 1960 to 1977 he was also a member of hr-Jazz Ensemble , and participated in its productions. In 1971 he played with the Klaus Weiss - Big Band . In 1974 he founded with Heinz Sauer , Bob Degen , Günter Lenz and Ralf Hübner , the group Voices .

  5. aha... right, thanks for clarifying that!

    this did make me smile... i have only played the first couple of tracks so far, and i would have to say that the playing is a bit too mainstream/polite for my taste (traces of rough edge from sauer in the first number, but only fleetingly) - but the writing is really intriguing. that first track, within seconds, reminded me of henri texier who of course would be mining the same seams a whole lot later. north african influence i suppose. i will listen to the whole thing in due course, will report back if i draw any worthile conclusions :)

  6. Great! link still works. Thanks Vitko!

  7. Muchas gracias, excelente disco.