Tuesday, March 3, 2015

MAL WALDRON (Solo / Sextet) – Moods (2LP-1979)

Label: Enja Records – enja 3021  
(also; Inner City Records – IC 3018-2)
Format: 2 × Vinyl, LP, Album / Country: W. Germany / Released: 1979
Style: Free Jazz, Post Bop
Recorded in May 1978, Tonstudio Bauer, Ludwigsburg.
Design [Cover] – Weber, Winckelmann
Photography – Ghert Chesi
Producer – Horst Weber, Matthias Winckelmann
Recorded By – Carlos Albrecht

A1 - Minoat . . . . . . . . . . 8:08
A2 - A Case Of Plus 4's . . . . . . . . . . 14:59
B  -  Sieg Haile . . . . . . . . . . 20:14
C1 - Anxiety . . . . . . . . . . 3:29
C2 - Thoughtful . . . . . . . . . . 6:07
C3 - Lonely . . . . . . . . . . 6:34
C4 - Happiness . . . . . . . . . . 3:04
D1 - Soul Eyes . . . . . . . . . . 6:49
D2 - I Thought About You . . . . . . . . . . 7:39
D3 - Duquility . . . . . . . . . . 8:31

Mal Waldron — piano
Terumasa Hino — cornet
Steve Lacy — soprano saxophone
Hermann Breuer — trombone
Cameron Brown — bass
Makaya Ntshoko — drums, percussion

This double-Lp features pianist Mal Waldron in two very different settings. On the first three songs (including the 20-minute sidelong "Sieg Haile"), he performs three of his compositions in a sextet with cornetist Terumasa Hino, soprano-saxophonist Steve Lacy, trombonist Hermann Breuer, bassist Cameron Brown and drummer Makaya Ntshoko. While that set has its share of fireworks, the remaining seven selections (six originals including his famous "Soul Eyes" plus the lone standard "I Thought About You") showcase Waldron as a sensitive solo pianist. This enjoyable and subtle music (which was also available at one time domestically on Inner City) gives one a well-rounded picture of Mal Waldron's talents in the late 1970's.
_ Review by Scott Yanow

Clocking in at over an hour, this generous presentation is nicely varied, alternating solo piano pieces with a fine sextet. In the latter, Waldron is joined by frequent collaborator Steve Lacy on soprano saxophone. In addition to the rhythm section, cornet player Terumasa Hino and trombonist Hermann Breuer round things out. Waldron relocated from the United States to Europe in the late '60s, and MOODS was recorded, with extraordinary warmth and clarity, in Germany in 1978. After the brief solitary piano of "Anxiety," "Sieg Haile" comes marching in with supple relentlessness. Waldron's compositions favor sharply defined chordal structures supporting simple, yet unexpected melodic lines. The album closer is the set's one cover, Jimmy Van Heusen's "I Thought About You." This performance embraces the same heartbreaking beauty favored by Billie Holiday, for whom Waldron was the final piano player in the '50s...

Beautiful music on two LP's. Enjoy!

If you find it, buy this album!


  1. MAL WALDRON (Solo / Sextet) – Moods (2LP-1979)
    Vinyl Rip-FLAC+Cover


    1. or

    2. Thanks 4 the link at 1fichier, gamefront doesn't work at some countries. I'm from Chile and thank you very much for this awesome blog!

  2. Wow, did not know about this one. Can't wait to hear it. Thanks, Vitko!

  3. This album has been reissued by Enja on a single CD, but with 2 tracks missing from this double LP set. Thanks for posting the whole sha-bang, Vitko :)

    1. Yes, but to me it's not clear what they did with that CD, OK is not complete, but, sound is on it so sterile as a cleaned wound with pharmacy alcohol. This double LP, it was always difficult to find.
      To me this is one of the most beautiful (not to say the best... though ...) Waldron's albums :)
      Solo tracks are a real treat.
      Cheers Lucky.

    2. I agree with Vitko on this one. The release of this CD was one of the most "hack" jobs enja did. The CD is incomplete and totally messes up the structure of the original DLP (where one LP was the sextet, and the other one the solo recordings). If I recall correctly, they were recorded on two consecutive days.

      And to make matters worse, the "One Upmanship" CD does further "hacking" of these recordings by including a few of the "Moods" solos on the One Upmanship CD. For me, that destroyed the unity of the One Upmanship LP - and incidentally, that's where you can find the missing solo tracks from the "Moods" sessions. This is such awful butchering. Don't understand why enja believes people wouldn't buy CDs unless they run 70 minutes.

      And I equally don't understand why enja (any of the enja reincarnations) hasn't reissued many of the fine LPs of their back catalog. That oversight includes most all of their Yamashita LPs. What a pity.

      In any case, Thank you, Vitko, for this post.

    3. Yes, such a desecration totally bewilder me. Taking blindly with different albums does not make a compilation of already confused scrapbook for no apparent reason. Thank you -Otto- on your comment.

  4. Oh my. I agree with you on its beauty ... My favorite, probably, Waldron release. And now about to get better with the 3 missing tracks from cd. Thanks Vitko ... again.

  5. I just had a listen to both versions - your vinyl-rip, Vitko, and the remastered CD from 2004, and to be true, both sound fantastic to my ears! Could it be that you discussed the 1990 issue? In 1990 the CD mastering often was pretty bad, too much compression and all that stuff I don't know anything about... But still - the 2 tracks are also missing from the 2004 version, and the order is all mixed up like on the previous CD. Thanks for the info, -Otto- + Vitko!

    1. I thought the CD from 1990, missing three tracks, this from 2004 I did not listen, so I do not know. I am glad if the sound quality closer to the good old vinyl.

    2. OK, one more difference between the 1990 and 2004 CD - only 2 tracks missing on the latter, 3 on the former. But enough - you gave us the real deal, Vitko, thanks for that!! :)

  6. Bee-oo-tee-full! Thanks for offering us the real deal, Vitko!

  7. Many thanks Vitko!! This one is actually new to me. Been listening for a few days now. The whole band is amazing, but damn, Lacy was just a force (stream of consciousness) in the late seventies and early eighties. Waldron's solo stuff on this is top notch also. Great album. Thanks again.

  8. Thanks you very much...