Saturday, December 28, 2013

TERUMASA HINO – Taro's Mood (1973) [Recorded live at the Domicile] - Re-2006

Label: Enja Records – ENJ 2104 2
Series: Enja · 24bit Master Edition –
Format: 2 × CD, Album, Remastered, Digipack; Country: Germany - Released: 2006
Style: Hard Bop, Free Improvisation
Recorded live at the jazzclub Domicile in Münich, June 29th 1973
Design – David Winckelmann
Photography By – Josef Werkmeister, Mathias Rissi
Producer – Matthias Winckelmann
Recorded By – Jürgen Koppers
Remastered At – Organic Music Studio, By – Thorsten Scheffner

Recorded in 1973. Remastered from analog source. 1 bonus track plus 1 bonus CD (tracks 5- 7)

Born in 1942 in Tokyo, Terumasa Hino made his professional debut in 1955. After the great success of his album "Hi-nology" (1969) he performed at the Berliner Jazztage in 1971 and at many other festivals before moving to New York in 1975. Today Hino is a lving legend and the most famous national jazz musician in Japan. Once an editor of Miles Davis transcriptions, his powerful playing in the 70s and his "large, brilliant tone" (Grove Dictionary) have often been compared to Miles Davis' 60s style. "Taro's Mood" is a fiery, high-energy live document of freestyle hardbop that also allows moments of surprising lyricism. Including four bonus tracks, this edition gives a much broader picture of Hino's music than the original LP vinyl could.

LP cover (1973)
Terumasa Hino

One of the first great non-Japanese recordings by trumpeter Terumasa Hino – a smoking little live set from Germany, done at a time when Hino was working at the height of his youthful powers! The mode here is stretched out and open – never too outside, but very exploratory – in the direction that Hino took quite strongly on his Japanese albums as the 70s approached, but performed here in a style that's even more organic than those records. The group is all Japanese – with Motohiko Hino on drums and Mikio Masuda on piano – and added conga at the bottom of the backings almost gives the record an early 70s Impulse Records sort of feel – nice and spiritual, and plenty soulful! Titles include "Alone Alone & Alone", "Taro's Mood", "Black Daffodil", and "Predawn". CD also features a bonus CD of unreleased material – the tracks "Stella By Starlight", "Cycle Circle", and "Lullaby".

Very beautiful recording.

Links in Comments!


  1. TERUMASA HINO – Taro's Mood (1973) [Recorded live at the Domicile] - Re-2006



  2. Love this album,thanks very much for this upgrade.

  3. Hey Vitko . . . wonder if this is the original recording of A,A&A. I think that is an absolutely beautiful song and Hino's signature piece. Thanks a bunch!

    1. Nope! I see in the AMG that A,A&A is the title cut to a 1967 CBS album

  4. Yes,"Alone, Alone and Alone" is the album of the same name from 1967 - Terumasa Hino Quartet (Takt Jazz Series / Columbia - XMS-10023)
    Recorded at Teichikukaikan Studio, Nov. 16 and 17, 1967

  5. Alone, Alone & Alone was earlier recorded under Hideo Shirakis name in1965 on Sakura Sakura for MPS. But don't know, if that is the earliest recording.

  6. Another great 70s album from Mr.Hino. Thanks!

  7. Thank for this excellent album.Cheers!